Ivy Bank Primary School Logo Illuminating ValuableYears, Building and NurturingKnowledge

Governors (LAC members)

Governors, Local Academy Committee (LAC) members, support the school and help to drive school improvement through involvement in school self-evaluation, agreeing priorities for development and monitoring and evaluating the actions taken and their impact on pupils. 

The LAC is made up of a mixture of Co-opted, Staff, Trust and Parent Governors.  Along with checking school performance data each governor is also given an area of responsibility that they have a particular interest or strength in.  Each term, governors will be invited into school to meet with different members of staff so that they can ask them questions and produce a written report.

The LAC has the following key link areas:

  • Leadership & Management
  • Disadvantaged & SEND Children
  • English
  • Maths
  • Safeguarding and Health & Safety
  • Wellbeing (including behaviour and emotional wellbeing)
  • Wider Curriculum and EYFS


As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running of any organisation. We regularly collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity
  • develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation
  • prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas
  • address potential ‘blind spots’ through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks

However, we are unable to publish this information as it would mean that individual members of our governing body are identifiable.

Staff Governors:


MRS JANE OLIVER - LAC link governor for Early Years


Co-opted Governors:

MRS PATRICIA BROADLEY - CHAIR OF GOVERNORS - LAC link governor for Leadership and Management

MR BRIAN PUDDICOMBE - LAC link governor for Safeguarding and Health & Safety

MR ANDREW NESOM - LAC link governor for pupil and sports premiums

MRS JULIE CROFT - LAC link governor for SEND


Parent Governors:

MRS MELANY DARLINGTON - LAC link governor for wellbeing

MRS LAURA FARRAND - LAC link governor for English

MRS TANYA DINGLE - LAC link governor for maths


Others attending meetings:

MR STEVE WHEELDON - Assistant CEO for Aspire Educational Trust

MRS LISA BENSKIN - Governance Professional

MR STEVE HERD - deputy head at Ivy Bank

MRS RACHEL CALNUN-PRATT - bursar at Ivy Bank


governor attendance.PNG


Aspire Educational Trust - Governance

All Trustee information is on the Aspire website here

Please see below for links to the MAT Governance and Finance pages

Governance page   

Finance page 






Ivy Bank Primary School

Valley Road Macclesfield, Cheshire SK11 8PB

Mrs Sarah Gill | Headteacher

01625 448014